View post (Chasing Chords / Keys)

View thread

SRVFan2000
SRVFan2000
09/28/2022 10:27 pm
#5 Originally Posted by: William MG

There is a lot here in this lesson and as suspected you are more ambitious than I am which is great. 

What I picked up on is "focus on what you hear". I think I understand what he is saying. For instance if I am told we are going to be doing a 12 bar blues - A D E. Once we get going I will know the chords by ear and what notes might sound best for me to come in with. And I just stick to pentatonic btw. But it's timing and knowing what to play when, and being creative with those 5 notes (and you may not play all 5 of course) and this takes practice, and skill and patience. I am not that good at it. I like to throw in some notes cautiously, hit some chords, have a drink and relax. So what I am saying is that I not that creative. But a trick I learned from a local teacher - his name is Scott Medford and you can find him on Youtube - is to learn a bunch of licks. That way I am not trying to make something up on the fly. These will always work and I am having a good time.

I know you want to be more creative than that and I really applaude you. Good luck with it.

I like this. Learning more licks is a great idea. Now that you say that, I do see those players doing their runs using varoius licks. What I have found is that it usually sounds good if I consciously emphasize what sounds right. Even if I hit clearly wrong notes, I can use them almost as contrast and quickly move on to the root note(s.)

You captured the essence of my question. Going even further, I was referring to getting out of the scale boxes. I know how notes are all over the fretboard. I am in a course now so I can learn all the notes in context of any given key. There are only 24 chords- 12 major and 12 minor (circle of 5th's.) He has us learning one group (4 notes) per week. We will see how it goes.