Need advice

Unforgiven2004
Unforgiven2004
08/25/2022 7:37 pm

Hello! I am a beginner guitar learner. I take advantage of my holidays and practice for around 2 hours daily. I will tell you my routine, and can you please tell me whether I am not doing something wrong? Or whether I should do something more?

I start off the lesson by warming up my fingers, then I practice chords, notes, and others things I learned previously. After that, I take 2-3 guitar tricks lessons (depending on the day since I only take guitar tricks classes once every two days), and I finish lesson by learning an additional part of songs I like (and practicing part of songs I had already learned).

Thank you in advance.

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
08/25/2022 8:30 pm

Sounds like you have a good grasp on things, but I will offer this. It is from Christopher, one of the instructors. Probably the best overview I can imagine

Every individual has a different daily life schedule & amount of skill they bring to the task of learning guitar. With that in mind here is a generalized list of how to approach learning & practicing.

1. Practice your guitar some every day.

2. If at all possible, practice earlier rather than later, so you won't run out of time & then feel guilty about not getting in your daily practice. If this means getting up an hour eariler, then do it. This is always preferable to waiting until the end of a long, frazzled workday, then rushing through a tired, uninspired, frustrating practice session. And staying up an hour later to do it!

3. Start with a warm up of something fun that you can already do. Chord changes, a simple song, a scale, a melody. Anything, but something you can already do that is fun. Even if this is the only thing you do, or have time for, at least you played your guitar, got your fingers & mind moving musically & it was fun.