Humbucker 'Dance'

rmowens1977
rmowens1977
03/02/2022 5:23 am

Greetings,

So I am extrraordinarily excited that I 'coughed up the loot' for an Epi 1959 LP Standard. I'm loving it. However, one concernI have is as follows: the Neck humbucker (which, along with the bridge are Gibson USA Burstbuckers!!! ) moves from side to side, such that when I gently press down on it nearest the neck, the rear of the humbucker lifts a bit; likewise, when I press nearest the rear (i.e., closer to the bridge humbucker), the front (nearest the neck) lifts a bit. This does not happen in the bridge humbucker, which is fixed in place. Is this normal? Is this okay? Or should I send it back? Any advise would be much appreciated. Thanks all. Rock out!

# 1
aliasmaximus
aliasmaximus
03/02/2022 4:42 pm

Hi rmowens, and congrats on the sweet new ride! I'm just learning about humbuckers myself and don't have an answer for you, but you are right to ask about it. You might have better luck posting your question in the "Ask a Guitar Tech" forum for full access subscribers like you. That forum is manned by GT Superhero Steve White, the dedicated GT guitar technician. He's saved my butt a couple of times already. I'm quite certain he will have the answer you seek, along with some suggestions. Keep rockin' it and good luck.

Nicolai

# 2
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
03/02/2022 7:38 pm