Caged Scales

dyrusnlclan
dyrusnlclan
01/10/2022 4:43 pm

Hi. I have been playing guitar for 5 years but the last couple of weeks ive been learning the CAGED system. The caged in C Major is no problem for me.

Question: But what if the key is in A Major? D major? etc.. The pattern must change from the C Major pattern with some new notes right? Any tips how i can learn this? Cant manage to find a lesson for the other Keys.

Cheers

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
01/10/2022 6:35 pm
Originally Posted by: dyrusnlclan

Question: But what if the key is in A Major?[/quote][p]You slide all the shapes over so the root note (circled) number 1 is on the letter A.

Originally Posted by: dyrusnlclanthe D major?

You slide all the shapes over so the root note (circled) number 1 is on the letter D.

[quote=dyrusnlclan]The pattern must change from the C Major pattern with some new notes right?

No. In fact that's the entire point behind the CAGED system: it's the same shapes & patterns (the scale & chord degrees) simply moved over & applied to a different set of musical alphabet letters.

This is the same principle behind barre chords & scales. The fact that the guitar is very pattern oriented is what makes CAGED a helpful visual guide for some players.

I cover CAGED for rhythm guitar in this tutorial. If you work through this tutorial, you'll see that I generate an entire chord progression of different chords but using the same shapes every time.

https://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=2614

This one is CAGED for lead guitar.

https://www.guitartricks.com/tutorial.php?input=2619

Please ask more if necessary. Hope this helps! Best of success!

Christopher Schlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor

Christopher Schlegel Lesson Directory
# 2
fixslayrlini
fixslayrlini
02/10/2022 8:40 am
Originally Posted by: ChristopherSchlegel
Originally Posted by: dyrusnlclan