Grateful for the structure

RonaldR
Full Access
RonaldR
Full Access
05/10/2021 9:00 pm

I am getting older, and feel old, and worn by the pandemic.

I make my living as an engineer. I love my job, but that left-sided logical part of the brain has become too much, too dominant, present in every minute as we relocate our work into our homes, dissolving the final barriers between work and all those other heartbeats meant to be experienced apart from just working all the time.

Does anyone else notice that an acoustic guitar inspires you to sing? I'm not a singer, but (unlike my piano) you HUG an acoustic, and when you hit a sweet chord, alone late at night, it resonates with your lungs and diaphram and almost pulls a note from your throat. I still can't sing but it's a wonderful feeling.

I'm thankful for the structured approach offered here. Oh and I've been a paid member for a while but just now discovered these forums. Looks like there's a community here too.

Greetings to all, let's all learn some music and brighten our souls. Even if nobody else wants to hear me sing :-)

# 1
LynnS1951
LynnS1951
05/11/2021 2:14 am

Hi Ronald,

The solid structure here was was recommended by a review and I was sold. I never expected to sing in this course, I mean Lisa's original songs – I thought I could only sing songs I'd known for many years. I never knew exactly how strumming chords supports even the least talented singer. I don't know how I could never have understood that the chords do echo the melody. It's amazing to sing with the guitar and very therapeutic. I just took delivery of a new Taylor. Its crisp sound inspires my desire to play with crisp accuracy.