Guitar Suggestion

slittle_92
slittle_92
04/05/2021 8:32 pm

Hi ,

I started playing guitar last year on my family accoustic and was hoping to try electric guitar.

[br]I know nothing about specs, sound, performance, what to look for etc. because looking cool is what matters ;P JK.) . Obviously I understand that playability is more important .

[br]Aesthetically I have a soft spot for Les Pauls ,and after asking around I was recommended the Epiphone Les Paul standard 60’s or the Epiphone Les Paul Modern Faded. I was also suggested a fender stratocaster player hss pro top.

I tend to like alternative rock/indie, metal and classic rock. I hope am hoping to play select songs from the doors ,red hot chilli peppers, metallica, nirvana, joy division, queens of the stone age jimi hendrix, rolling stones, linkin park and foo fighters.

Also are there an amps or accessories (pedals, capos, cables, straps carry/gig case etc)you would recommend based on my music choice?

In terms of budget I would say for the guitar: £600-800 &[br]Amp: £150-250[br]any advice appreciated

# 1
DavidMeb
DavidMeb
04/06/2021 4:43 pm

Your mention of pounds suggests you're in the UK. Have you had a look at the Andertons site? https://www.andertons.co.uk/

I'm all for buying local etc., but their site has so much good information - buying guides, beginner's packages etc. Even if you don't buy from them, so much to be had from that site. Their videos do get a bit addictive!

# 2
ShortFuze
ShortFuze
04/07/2021 1:44 am

I love the look of the Les Paul as well, but just realize they are quite heavy, and the necks are usually somewhat bulky, and with only a single cut away, accessing the upper frets could be more of a challenge as well.

I am an epiphone fan as well,. I have a cheap little Epiphone Les Paul special II as well as a newer SG muse. I prefer to play the Muse, because it's not quite as heavy and feels more natural to play for me.