Posture vs pain.

ddiddler
Full Access
ddiddler
Full Access
11/07/2020 4:51 pm

Totally felled today by neck spasms down right side.

hoping it's totally unconnected from any acoustic practice. [br]5 months into playing electric but only a couple of months playing acoustic. [br]very aware that as a beginner I tend to crouch to see frets and hand. [br]Tried off both legs and using a low footstool. [br]Yesterday felt fine , off left leg, trying to sit much more upright, head high and square across the shoulders.[br]see more posts about hands, fingers and shoulders rather than the neck. [br]Now looking at guitar lifts, supports off the leg to set the neck angle allowing the player to have 2 feet on the floor nice and square. [br]What is the experience of others who have tried thes devices. [br]No practice for me for the next couple of days.

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/07/2020 8:22 pm

Ouch, sorry for your troubles!

Originally Posted by: ddiddler

very aware that as a beginner I tend to crouch to see frets and hand.[/quote][p]Have you tried sitting with a strap holding up the guitar?

[br][quote=ddiddler]Now looking at guitar lifts, supports off the leg to set the neck angle allowing the player to have 2 feet on the floor nice and square. [br]What is the experience of others who have tried thes devices. [br]

[p]I use a classical foot rest for classical guitar. But I get that the guitar spport would be better in order to keep your feet flat & your hips & back square. The strap helps keep the guitar in place better than anything, but I understand that could cause pressure on your neck & back.

Get better soon!

Christopher Schlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor

Christopher Schlegel Lesson Directory
# 2
ddiddler
Full Access
ddiddler
Full Access
11/07/2020 10:06 pm

Thanks Christopher