Beginner Progression

Sburns0057
Full Access
Sburns0057
Full Access
03/21/2020 1:43 am

I started using Guitar Tricks as a 57-yr. old absolute beginner on 12/29. I've made it as far as Fundamentals 1, practicing songs in the keys of G & C. I practice chord transitions daily, some very basic songs, Fret Board trainer in Tools, and more. My question is, What level of mastery should I attain before moving on to Fundamentals 2? I still can't do B. F is still very hard.

# 1
PamoPlays
Full Access
PamoPlays
Full Access
03/21/2020 2:12 am

Congratulations on your progress so far! I'm in Fundamentals 1 as well and just watched the final videos on that level. Lisa states that she doesn't expect you to be able to do everything with full mastery by the end of the course- but to understand it and be working on it in your practice.

It sounds to me like you are ready to move forward. Plus you can always return to the previous lessons if you need a reminder or want to practice there.

# 2
manXcat
manXcat
03/21/2020 2:13 am

[u]Reasonable competence[/u] would be the more apt description of the necessary realistic [u]target[/u] level of skill to be acquired than "mastery".

Open F is a challenge for pretty much everyone starting out. [u]Multiple finger[/u] barre B is too, its difficulty exacerbated by shorter fingers and smaller hands. Open B is pretty easy as is the two finger barre B most guitarists including me use. But, it all takes time and is progressive in the learning and skill acquisition

[br]Can't recall how far F1 goes, but as I recall it covers all the common Open chords including those I'll mention in the paragraph below? If I'm errant on that, please forgive.

[br]With that salient in mind;

A. What type of guitar are you playing (i.e. electric or acoustic), and;

B. What kind of music/genre interests you that you would like to be able to play in future?