View post (The Old Folks' Beginners Thread)

View thread

bdonnach
Full Access
bdonnach
Full Access
04/16/2019 6:42 am

Re: excited about lessons.

[br]

Only had one lesson. Everything else is self-taught. I plan on taking four lessons at Guitar Center for a couple of reasons: First, overtly, to make sure I'm not developing bad habits that can inhibit progress; Second, covertly, for the discounts and the guitar lesson books. The price cut I got on a Taylor Guitar was about twice what the four lessons cost, and the three volumes of their curriculum are gold.

[br]RE: Mary had a little lamb.

[br]I hear you about "Mary had a little lamb." Haven't run into that in any of the books I'm using, but that would annoy me too. The Guitar Center Curriculum starts with well-known riffs for practice, and an eclectic assortment of classic and modern songs for instruction. Main ones I'm working on now are "Good Riddance" from Green Day and "Knockin' on Heaven's Door" by Bob Dillan. The goal at the end: to finger pick "Hallelujah" by Leonard Cohen. Easy enough to strum; but, the picking is a few weeks away.

[br]The Proline "Play Guitar Today!" books were the best starters for me because they took the approach to teach one note at a time, one string at a time, while providing the underlying theory; building blocks for building chords. With that barrier broken, the other resources have more value and fun.

[br]RE: Chord transitions.