Pickups - how much difference do they make

dlwalke
Full Access
dlwalke
Full Access
03/03/2019 11:49 pm

Not sure if this is best posted here or maybe in the tech forum. Anyway, I get that different classes of pickups (e.g., humbuckers vs single coil) and configurations (e.g., series vs parallel or neck vs bridge) make a big difference in the sound. But when I listen to videos that compare different pickups of the same class (like a stock strat p.u. vs a particular Seymour Duncan single coil replacement) I most often am hard pressed to hear any difference. To the extent that they are different, I am wondering if it is just about output and frequency characteristics. If that's the case, it seems as if these are things you could just as easily accomplish using the guitars volume and the guitar&s tone/EQ controls. Or am I wrong about this?

# 1
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
03/04/2019 1:25 am

Now I'm fairly new at this too, but over the past fifteen months I've managed to acquire quite a bit of kit and 7 electrics of different configs and styles and 3 all now e-acoustic configured guitars.

Short answer is IMO&E so far is no.

Although they can inarguably influence tone remarkably, especially amp simulators IME, no amp or guitar tone, volume, EQ, or preset controls alone are a total substitute for individual pickup variations, or config variations like string gauges, materials including coatings or player attack all alter tone. Those tools can go part of the way, but pickup capability is important IMV.