robots in the mix

snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
05/29/2018 4:11 pm

I just had a very depressing experience watching a "live" performance that was more of a recording than anything live. The really depressing part was that the musicians on the stage were probably skilled. But the constant emergence of prerecorded backing tracks made it difficult to tell if they actualy were good or just lip sincing!

I am a life long musician and this "what the hell is lip sinced" question convinced me that this was worse than disco! I mean... at least disco made no pretense of being live. You knew coming in, that what you would get is a guy with a record player.

Oh well I guess computers have stolen our privacy, our democracy, and now our music. Who need a live musician when you can just buy a machine. welcome to the future?!!! What is next buttontricks.com with toutorials like "pushing 2 buttons at the same time"?!

Captcha is a total pain in the........

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
05/30/2018 6:34 pm

Big fan of Buttontricks.com

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/30/2018 11:43 pm

Nowadays I'm tending towards 'small venue' bands where it's clear it is all live. In the last few years, my wife and I have taken to seeing Tedeschi Trucks Band (NPR Tiny Desk Concert) a number of times in the last few years. It's real, it's tasty and as I'm getting older, kinda my speed.

Funny thing about disco, it was actually played most all of the time. Sure, performed live, depending on who you see, it was recorded stuff but lots of those bands were live. And all the old 70's R&B (EW&F, Commodores etc) were live and those bands could cook it up!