Hi all, doing it right this time!

Mid_Life Crisis
Mid_Life Crisis
05/09/2018 11:23 am

Hello all, just wanted to introduce myself as I'm keen to get involved with the community aspect here. I think it will benefit everyone if we can build up a bit of a support network for encouragement and motivation!

I started playing around 30 years ago and was pretty serious at first, playing in a few local bands etc. I did have some formal lessons but I've never really studied theory. I understand the concepts but haven't managed to apply that to what and how I play. I've really just winged it and learnt enough riffs and licks from tab to sound semi convincing as a blues/rock player with a lot of limitations.

Unfortunately, life got in the way of my rock star dreams and I've gone through long periods (years) of not touching the guitar at all mixed with short periods of just replaying the same old stuff I already know, until now!

I've finally made the commitment to go back to basics and learn from the ground up so that I can try and get involved in the local blues scene and start playing with others again. I think the main challenge will be fitting practice in around work and family commitments, but hopefully the online format will let me do that.

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
05/09/2018 11:51 pm

Hi there,

We're so glad to have you here. Life happens, but guitar will always be there for you whenever you're ready to pick it up again. I hope you find the lessons and community fun and enjoyable!

In regards to practice, don't over extend yourself. Some folks like to practice for hours at a time, but that may not work for you, or most people. Keep it small and consistent. Maybe do 20 or 30 minutes a day, working on things you actually want to learn, that way you're always having fun.

As always, let us know if you have any questions.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor