What do I need to know to play lead?

Rammstein2452
Rammstein2452
09/04/2000 11:12 pm
Me and some friends are starting a band, and we have two guitarists, me and another friend. We're both semi-begginers and are debating who should play lead so I need to know whats involved in that, I can play rythem (sorry about the spelling) easy.
anything would be appretiated
Hello me, Meet the REAL me
# 1

09/05/2000 2:10 am
Well I think it depends partly on what style and what sound you're going for. But if you're a complete beginner, I can give you a few tips on how to start off which are universal.
1) Familiarize yourself with the scales you will be utilizing (be it pentatonic, minor, blues, etc.)
2) Practice that scale to death until you can play it backwards and forwards in your sleep. Practice with a metronome and with no distortion.
4) Get good at switching between solo boxes seamlessly.
3) Work on your "arsenal" of licks and riffs. Master the hammer-on, pull-off, and slide.
4) And lastly, develop a sense of "musical good taste", that is, being able to improvise in a creative and hopefully melodic way. It's not that long a road to reach that point, and the journey is fun as hell.

# 2
Rammstein2452
Rammstein2452
09/05/2000 2:51 am
Hey thanx, great info. Would the scales that came on THIS websight (guitar tricks) work or should i learn more, i forgot to tell that we're playing mettalica/iron maiden type stuff. thanx!
# 3
Rammstein2452
Rammstein2452
09/05/2000 2:52 am
Good god I cant even spell metallica right, sorry
# 4
AtomicMassUnit
AtomicMassUnit
09/06/2000 8:37 pm