self taught vs guitar lessons

3donkey
3donkey
11/09/2015 7:56 pm
Hi all,

I have been playing guitar for about 4 years now and I actually made a lot of progresses as "self taught" ( helping myself with guitartricks and other free good lessons on youtube ). I learned by practicing on songs with a lot of challenging stuff and I always thought I could do everything without a real teacher. But now I m actually starting to change my point of view and decided to start real lessons from an experienced teacher, since I think my progress would go much faster that way... instead of just keeping playing without a real directions.

What do you think about it? Anyone got the same experience?
# 1
GT Staff
Administrator
GT Staff
Administrator
11/11/2015 5:46 pm
Originally Posted by: 3donkeyHi all,

I have been playing guitar for about 4 years now and I actually made a lot of progresses as "self taught" ( helping myself with guitartricks and other free good lessons on youtube ). I learned by practicing on songs with a lot of challenging stuff and I always thought I could do everything without a real teacher. But now I m actually starting to change my point of view and decided to start real lessons from an experienced teacher, since I think my progress would go much faster that way... instead of just keeping playing without a real directions.

To be honest, it depends on your style of learning.

Are you a self-motivated type? Do you thrive on setting your own schedule and doing your own thing? If so, you'd probably do fine without a teacher.

Other people "need" a teacher to keep them on the right track and to stay motivated. However, even if you're not that type of person, you could still certainly benefit from the help.

There's no wrong answer. Would you say you're "uncertain" about the direction you're going in?
# 2
razzlemacher
Full Access
razzlemacher
Full Access
11/13/2015 10:07 pm