Recording

harlandcox
harlandcox
11/09/2015 4:35 am
HI guys,
I am new to recording. I have been experimenting around with sounds ect. I have noticed that when I am just jamming by myself (with just clean guitar, no beat or bass ect. and playing things like pentatonic notes, an no chord strums) it comes across sort of nicely. But when I add a beat or strum chords it sounds like a bunch of cats on a railway. any tips on making my strumming sound better. as I said I am new to recording. please say what you feel like saying. thanks a lot.
# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
11/09/2015 4:14 pm
Originally Posted by: harlandcoxBut when I add a beat or strum chords it sounds like a bunch of cats on a railway.[/quote]
I think you've just discovered that recording yourself is the best way to objectively assess your current skills. :)

Playing smoothly in time with other musicians or a steady beat is a skill like any other that has to be learned through repetition & refinement.

[QUOTE=harlandcox]... any tips on making my strumming sound better.

First start with a metronome. Record yourself playing against a simple metronome click or a simple drum beat. Try to stay in simple rhythmic patterns. Quarter notes, eighth notes. Listen to the results & assess where you are having troubles.

Problems starting exactly on time? Does your strumming jump ahead of the beat? Lag behind the beat so you can't get to the next measure or chord change on time?

Work explicitly, intentionally on correcting the errors you are making.

If necessary, slow down the beat. Simplify the rhythms until you are playing smoothly in time. Only after you've accomplished that do you gradually add complexity to your rhythmic playing.