Strings

sparkyoneonetwo
Sparky Foxx
sparkyoneonetwo
Sparky Foxx
07/17/2015 2:18 am
I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this but do string have a big impact on tone??

Maybe this is a dumb question but i'm pretty new to all this and really don't know. I have two guitars a washburn and an LTD they both have ernie ball super slinky strings I got a good deal on a box of them when I got my LDT from sweet water. I've never used any other strings.

I love 80s metal from Iron Maiden to warrant and every band in between I just love it. So are strings like mine good for a sound like that or should I try another type or brand??

Thanks for reading,

Sparky
# 1
Rogerd99
Full Access
Rogerd99
Full Access
07/17/2015 4:15 am
I've been using Ernie Regular Slinky 10 through 46 gauge, for 5 years. They are very decent strings. I may try some Elixir Nanowebs here soon just to check them out.
Before the Ernies I was playing D'addarios 10's, and some Fender 9's.

I'm sure there are tons of good strings out there.
# 2
GT Staff
Administrator
GT Staff
Administrator
07/17/2015 5:44 pm
Originally Posted by: sparkyoneonetwoI'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this but do string have a big impact on tone??

Maybe this is a dumb question but i'm pretty new to all this and really don't know. I have two guitars a washburn and an LTD they both have ernie ball super slinky strings I got a good deal on a box of them when I got my LDT from sweet water. I've never used any other strings.

I love 80s metal from Iron Maiden to warrant and every band in between I just love it. So are strings like mine good for a sound like that or should I try another type or brand??

Thanks for reading,

Sparky

The short answer is definitely, yes. Strings do have a significant impact on your tone. Ernie Balls are solid, though I prefer Elixir strings because they have a more full and thick sound to them.