Finding a good teacher

08/08/2000 6:09 pm
I'm frustrated. I hear all these people talking about how they have a great teacher who is making their improvement so much quicker. How do you find one of these great teachers/mentors? This question is largely directed to those of you in the greater Toronto area (I'm looking at you eggman) who might know someone i can go too. I've had teachers before, just guys in their late teens or something trying to get some extra cash. But I want a professional. Satriani taught Vai right? And didn't he teach Kirk Hammet too? or was that someone else... How do these guys hook up with each other?
# 1
iamthe_eggman
Grizzled Spellchecker
iamthe_eggman
Grizzled Spellchecker
08/08/2000 7:03 pm
i'm solely self-taught, and don't know of too many guitar teachers, good or bad.

i have seen the ads of one guy - Juan Tomas. He teaches all sorts of guitar, and i've been seriously thinking of calling him. other than that, just check your yellow pages and call places and ask a lot of questions. that's all the advice i feel comfortable giving, seeing as how i've never taken a lesson before. sorry i couldn't be more helpful.

------------------
ok, i'm not really the eggman
... and that's all I have to say about that.

[U]ALL[/U] generalizations are [U]WRONG[/U]

[/sarcasm]
# 2
LuigiCabrini
LuigiCabrini
08/09/2000 1:42 am
I think that generally its good to find a teacher who mainly plays jazz. They are usually the ones most capable to teach a variety of styles, because the knowledge you have to know to play jazz is more extensive than for other styles. A blues player can be great at blues, but he won't be able to teach you metal very well. A metal player can be great at metal, but he won't be able to teach you jazz. If you get a jazz teacher, you're more likely to get the theory and tools that will apply to whatever style you want to play.
# 3
iamthe_eggman
Grizzled Spellchecker
iamthe_eggman
Grizzled Spellchecker
08/09/2000 1:20 pm