More Than A Feeling

Frizzy Totay
Frizzy Totay
05/10/2014 11:07 am
Hi Mike,

I just had to drop you a note to say how much I appreciate your lessons for More Than A Feeling. I've been playing guitar, very badly, for about 25 years with no real purpose. I was a member of Guitar Tricks a couple of years ago and learned a few bits and bobs (again, very badly), before quitting GT for a while. When I saw Boston songs were up on the site I decided to try again and, amazingly, I've learned my first full song thanks to your clear, patient and painstaking tutorials.

There are many fabulous teachers on the site, but you're my new number 1! :)

Incidentally, how are song difficulties determined and by whom? I can't believe MTAF is 5 guitars of hardness, while something like Bach's Joy Of Man's Desiring is only 2 guitars. I find Bach much more difficult.
# 1
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Mike Olekshy
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/12/2014 3:49 pm
Great news! Thank you for the kind words!

The difficulty levels are assigned relative to the other material in the same genre or curriculum. So, comparing a rock song by Boston to a solo classical Bach piece is like comparing apples & oranges. All the rocks songs are in one category. Then, any new rock song or rock course, or technique tutorial is assigned a level relative to all the currently existing rock material. Same for the classical material. A new classical tutorial is assigned a difficulty level compared to the other classical material.

Hope this helps!

Keep rockin'
Mike

Keep rockin!
Mike Olekshy
GT Guitar Coach

# 2
Frizzy Totay
Frizzy Totay
05/19/2014 5:58 pm
Thanks for the explanation, Mike, and I most definitely plan to keep on rockin'.

Just my own feeling, there's not enough 1 star songs in all catagories. How I've managed to pull off playing a 5 guitar song is beyond me, and I won't be adding to it any time soon. It'd be nice to see some simple, but still fun to play, songs out there.
# 3
maggior
maggior