finding the right tone

bbzswa777
bbzswa777
03/09/2014 5:57 am
First off, I haven't been playing guitar too long (5 months), but I've been obsessed since I've started and I play at least 2 hours every day. I'd like to think I'm advancing pretty fast in some areas, while I'm still a novice in others. Particularly how to achieve the perfect sound:

For example... I've been learning the chorus of Black Star by Yngwie, and I've finally got it down (yes, even the fast alternate picking). But I haven't yet mastered the crazy solos in the rest of the song, of course.

But anyway, f you know the song, you'll know there are a few very important bends in the chorus. I'm actually using a Fender Strat (just like he did), but I only have a small Fender Mustang amp. But here's my question: is it unreasonable to think I can match his tone with my small amp and guitar? I basically just put it on a high gain setting. Because even though I have the bends down, it doesn't sound quite as emotional as his. But I'm pretty clueless when it comes to recording and live performances. It sounds like he might even have another guitarist playing the same thing at the same time, maybe even in another octave? Or maybe I need an actual tube amp with some pedals?

Again, I'm fairly clueless on the matter, and would welcome any advice!

~Rusty
# 1
fuzzb0x
Full Access
fuzzb0x
Full Access
03/09/2014 10:20 am
it's possible the guitars on the recording are double tracked which can help create a richer tone. Valve or solid state amps are down to personal taste really, i have both and use them for different bands. The valve amp gets used for rock or blues and the solid state amp gets used when i play with my punk band.
It's also worth remembering that it's not only the type of amp used that creates your tone, it will also be affected by the speakers you are using and the pickups in your guitar, if you are using any effect pedals and if those pedals are true bypass or not.