I've said it befor but I know there have been a lot of new signups since.

RickBlacker
Full Access
RickBlacker
Full Access
07/16/2013 3:12 am
Folks who are just starting out.. If you take no other advice from me, take this... always Always ALWAYS practice with a metronome. I've been playing guitar now off and on for about 4~5 years... I never used a metronome and I am dearly paying the price now.

I've had to hire a guitar instructor to help me out, help get my rhythms into check. Oh sure, I'll play something for someone and they will like, I get compliments and what not, but that's not playing with a drummer. One of my best friends who I've know since high school (class of 85) is a drummer and all but refuses to play with me because I screw up his tempo.. He totally dogs me and rightfully so.

Get in the habit because it's your guitar playing best friend.
[U]Ricks Current Mystery Video[/U] - Updated Monday March/02/2015
# 1
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
07/16/2013 6:22 am
I agree, but with perhaps a modification/clarification: you don't need to have the metronome on all the time. For instance, if you're a beginner trying to learn how to change between two new chords, first, start off by knowing the two different chord shapes. Next, play one cleanly, switch to the next, and play (strum) only when you know you are fretting correctly. How much time it takes to switch from one chord to the next is not important in the beginning. The mental connection between knowing you've placed your fingers correctly with your left hand and then giving your right hand permission to go ahead strum is what you are trying to develop.