hey gang I have a squier strat..

Dirty Bill
Dirty Bill
04/09/2013 5:13 pm
The guitar is nice enough,seems to be decently made and sounds,well,just ok. I was wondering if it would be worthwhile to change the pickups on it for a better sound.

The music i want to play on this guitar is primarily blues,which i am a beginner at.

it seems to me i read some where about using humbuckers,but i can't remember where or what they said about them. Has anyone gone with a setup like the one described?

Always capitalize "BLUES"

# 1
cabledoctor
cabledoctor
04/09/2013 8:11 pm
If you are just starting out you dont need to be swapping your pickups out for humbuckers, just focus on learning and getting it to sound good with what you have.

Then when you have gotten to a better level treat yourself to a new guitar and amp possibly.

Don't buy into all the hype of you need this or need that, blues come's from inside and you can play them on any guitar with 6 strings, getting custom shop pickups or switching to humbuckers, you are still going to sound exactly like you do now, tone is from the fingers. I cannot say that enough, take it from me. I have spent thousand's on modding guitars and getting this and getting that, chasing tone is fun but very exspensive sometimes.
# 2
compart1
Full Access
compart1
Full Access
04/09/2013 8:36 pm
Hey Bill,

Maybe you can pick up some info here.. AS one person remarked about the different style of blues.

http://www.guitartricks.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-15479.html

You did not mention the PU configuration on your Squire. or anything about your amp.
Try a test with guitar set on neck PU, middle tone setting.
Amp setting Volume 5
Treble 6
Bass 4
if you have Reverb 2
There are a massive amount of setting you could use. And as many different sound taste.
Also there is a difference with how you play and the phrasing you use.
I think I would hold off on making changes until you have explored the possiblities of you rig.