i want it all amp

Guillermostaggs
Great Shadow
Guillermostaggs
Great Shadow
04/05/2012 10:03 am
im into severe variety which means i need something for blues metal classical rock which im new to getting amps currently i have a very small marshall amp given to me for my birthday by my brother but im looking to expand my tones and sound my price range is currently 1000 at max our there any good amps for variety in this budget
P.s i have a squier fender poeple say its just a mexican fender stratocaster is this true either way i love it :-)
Dont stop keep going-frank zappa Find what your good at and exaggerate it-steve vai
# 1
aschleman
aschleman
04/05/2012 4:05 pm
The Squire Stratocasters (depending on the model) aren't quite what people would call MIM (Made In Mexico) strats... They're good starter guitars and are very versatile though. There is a slight drop off in quality from american strats to MIM strats and to the squire strats. some squire strats are made of solid tone wood and some are made of a particle board. depending on the model you bought will depend on which you have. either way its a good guitar to start with.

as for amps - 1000 dollars can buy you a lot, but not necessarily buy you what you want. there is a big jump in amp technology and design from about 600 dollars and up. amps around the 200-500 range are usually your modeling amps. Vox Valvetronix, Line 6 Spyder, etc.. etc.. This would probably fit the bill the best for you at this point. They're very versatile and allow you to dial in different amp sounds rather than being stuck with one tone. once you play for a longer time you will start to have a better idea of what you want in tone and those more expensive amps will be more appealing... i'd say start with one of these modeling amps and then work your way up from there.

also, if 1000 dollars is your budget id say spring for a 500 dollar modeling amp and upgrade to an actual MIM strat. You will be able to tell the difference.
# 2