How has GT helped you personally?

Steadythisknife
Steadythisknife
10/31/2011 7:39 pm
Hello everyone! I am new here and have been going over this site in some fine detail. So far I like what I see. It seems to be very oragnized good detailed lessons with great quality vids.

My question is how has this site helped you with your guitar playing? How long did you play (if at all) prior to beginning lessons here, and at what skill level were you? Where are you now as a result and after how long? What knowlage have you gained now, or what new skills have you aquired that you did not contain prior to Guitar Trick lessons?

I have been playing 16 years self-taught, and in the last 6 years or so get extremely bored with guitar, but since finding out about this site, I am very eager to play, as if I have just picked it up for the first time like when I was 12. It feels great to be ambitious about playing guitar again and have it be apart of my life.
# 1
hrandersoniii
hrandersoniii
11/01/2011 3:13 pm
I was a total noob. I hadn't ever had the time to mess around with the guitar let alone get down and learn any songs. I've tried a lot in the past.
I am 43 myself and picked up the guitar seriously this past Christmas and with the tutorials from GT (And quite honestly from other sites as well such as Youtube) I am throwing down some songs from Metallica, Cream, ZZ Top and many others... I'm not good enough to kick the lead on a lot of songs thanks to the neuropathy in my hands, but I am doing good enough to keep up the rhythm on them.
The GT folks are some great people on the forums and off. I keep in touch with folks like JD Jarrel and Bobby Howe through Facebook and even have Lisa McKormick there, although she's not too chatty on the FB thing :D