First gig next week

Bruce J
Bruce J
05/07/2011 3:07 am
I've been learning guitar for just over two years now, taking many lessons from this site. About two months ago I put together a band with four other guys from our office and we'll be playing our first gig at a friendly bar next week. It would have been impossible to imagine just a couple of years ago that I'd be doing this as I've had no musical education since I was a kid (now 55, although still a kid!).

I don't know if we'll be any good, but I'm pretty sure the beer will be cold and everyone will have a good time. My wife will also be very happy that for at least a moment we will have most of the gear out of our living room where we've been practicing!

Just thought I'd drop this note of thanks to Guitar Tricks for all the help. In addition to learning the guitar, I've discovered how much there is to learn about getting the sound out there with mics, mixers, PAs, amps, etc. That's a whole 'nuther bunch of stuff to figure out!
# 1
sixpicker
Telecastered Instructor
sixpicker
Telecastered Instructor
05/07/2011 9:03 am
Hey Bruce J,
That's great, and I'm sure you'll have a lot of fun. You'll be hooked after this one, just wait and see, lol.

Let us know how it goes, and thanks for sharing this with us.
# 2
Razbo
Full Access
Razbo
Full Access
05/07/2011 9:45 am
There are difinitely several learning curves that kick in with all the associated gear. Congrats on your gig and good luck!
...so ever since then, I always hang on to the buckle.
# 3
Tiraz
Tiraz
05/07/2011 3:45 pm
Good luck with the gig, I remember the first time I played live....... shudders hehe
# 4
hunter1801
hunter1801
05/07/2011 6:36 pm
Yep, once you start, it's almost like an addiction. Lots of people can only dream about playing music for others or even WITH others.

Did you ever get your issues with the open G tuning thing sorted out?
# 5
Bruce J
Bruce J
05/07/2011 7:34 pm