View post (When they tell you you're good, when you're really bad!)

View thread

SuperCoolSlides
SuperCoolSlides
01/28/2004 11:07 am
now i have been working as the sound guy in 2 clubs for the past what 6 years and i have seen tons of bands play live

ive also been playing the guitar for an eternity, and know what yall been talking about regarding the "craftsmanship" side...

but being the sound guy, where you can always see the audience, and hear what they say about the bands in between songs or after a show is sometimes really weird.

its 100% true that musicians listen to music differently...i have mixed bands that i totally loved because they were really great musicians, had great arrangements and so on...but the audience thought they were pretty boring ...

on the other hand i have seen bands up on stage that i thought should be locked into their rehearsal room for at least another ten years...and the audience loved them ...
i'm guessing that there are a lot of people that appreciate the "emotion" or "energy" or even simply "innovation" a lot more than the musicianship, which almost all musicians tend to pay very close attention to

you prolly also know those types ... the band just played an awesome show, everybody was stagediving and crow surfing ... gettin naked ... ehm yeah...
but theres this grumpy guitar player in the audience wholl tell everybody that the guitar player in the band played the wrong chord in bar 17 of song no 9 ... :)

i beg you : dont be that guy ! try to distance yourself as much as you can from the mere observing of technical issues... it will not only get on everybody's nerves, you'll simply enjoy the music less and less !