Tone zone vs. Tone zone

6strngs_2hmbkrs
Proud Celica Enthusiast
6strngs_2hmbkrs
Proud Celica Enthusiast
03/27/2006 12:49 am
do you think that the single coil-sized dimarzio tone zone pickup would sound as good as the humbucker size that I hear so many good things about? this is to be used in the neck position. I figure buying a strat sized pickup would be so much easier than trying to route out my pickguard to accomodate a humbucker in the neck. so what do you think?
If you like cars see mine here
my spyspace
# 1
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
z0s0_jp
Riffologist
03/27/2006 1:30 am
single coil in the neck is the best for blues imo
"Dammit Jim!! I'm a guitarist not a roadie...so haul my gear"
# 2
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
03/27/2006 1:56 am
I think a Tone Zone might be a bit hot for the neck position. I pair a Tone Zone humbucker at the bridge with a PAF Pro at the neck. Bear in mind that you don't need extreme-output pickups to play heavy music. A stock strat will do the job. All that scooped-mid gain comes from pedals and amps. Lower-output pickups actually work better for high gain use, because they are less likely to get muddy.
Lordathestrings
Guitar Tricks Moderator

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 3
6strngs_2hmbkrs
Proud Celica Enthusiast
6strngs_2hmbkrs
Proud Celica Enthusiast
03/27/2006 5:50 am
Originally Posted by: LordathestringsI happen to like the DiMarzio Tone Zone for the bridge, but you say you want to focus this axe for metal, right? So, put the Tone Zone at the neck, and get a DiMarzio X2N for the bridge.

hey, I originally got the idea for the Tone Zone at the neck from you!

alright, now you gotta reccomend more neck pickups for me.. whether single coil or humbucker sized.
my spyspace
# 4
6strngs_2hmbkrs
Proud Celica Enthusiast
6strngs_2hmbkrs
Proud Celica Enthusiast
03/27/2006 5:57 am