Working as a studio musician

Infectious
Mr. Hardcore Oldschool
Infectious
Mr. Hardcore Oldschool
07/23/2005 10:17 pm
How's it going guys. Just joined as a high bandwith member this morning at like 1 am. Anyhow...I'm pretty much a self taught guitarist thinking about making a living playing music. One option apparently is working as a proffesional studio musician. I was just wondering if any of you guys had worked as one before and if so what kind of stuff what be vital to know as far as music theory goes. Any tips would be also welcome...at the moment I'm totally clueless. I've only been playing for 3 years, but I'm really getting into some deep study about music theory and I even bought a keyboard to learn how to read music and such, and eventually plan to translate that to being able to read music on both guitar and bass.

Anyone have any experience as a studio musician? I'd love to know what someone wanting to get into that field would have to know. Thanks guys.
# 1
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
07/23/2005 10:28 pm
Basically, you need to know a variety of styles. Excellent sight-reading is an absolute must. (sometimes from handwritten notes)... and improvisation is needed all the time.
In order to get work you need to live in a city where the jobs are available. ie, no point living in buttcreak, MA if all the work is in L.A.
Reliable transportation and messaging service.
Excellent equipment and a variety of guitars/amps/pedals to work with. Secondary instruments like Ukelele/banjo can make you extra money cause union rules say you have to be paid per instrument.
The ability to not be an ass and follow directions.. especially when you first start out. ie, don't act like you know everything or the older players will get you.
# 2
Infectious
Mr. Hardcore Oldschool
Infectious
Mr. Hardcore Oldschool
07/23/2005 11:30 pm