what scale /mode should I use?

trendslayer
trendslayer
07/06/2000 4:23 am
Ok i've been playing guitar for about a year now, i have no knowledge of theory at all but i'm in a band now and i need some help...here goes ok... In this song i use an E5 G5 and F5 chord...I'm in the key of e minor right? if i'm wrong correct me. I need to solo in this song and I need to know what key and scale or mode to use for it... this is a slayer/metallica type song so i need something with potential to be badass. Thanks for reading my post and any help would be greatly appreciated..thanks a lot.
# 1
trendslayer
trendslayer
07/06/2000 4:52 am
Why does the F5 mean I should use Phyrgian? I like the way it sounds over my riff but i'm trying to learn theory and i want to know why. But i really like the way the Bb5 sounds with the Lorcrian, so can you could also explain the tritones and how they work...thanks alot...keep the terms simple if possible i'm not big on theory just yet...thanks a lot
# 2
ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
07/06/2000 5:11 am
You are in the key of E minor; a very common metal key. Most solos are in the aeolian or pentatonic scales, but because you play an F5 power chord, that means you should use E Phrygian, an exotic, mmiddle-eastern, yet evil mode.

Go here to see the shape for phrygian:
http://pages.prodigy.net/aj5000

If you really want evil, use Locrian, and throw a Bb5 (B flat) power chord into the progression. From E to Bb is a diminished 5th (or a tritone), the most evil interval of them all. They used to hang minstrels in medieval times for playing it in front of the king...
"When you're a young, long-haired guitarist, no one takes you seriously." - John Petrucci

www.erikhagen.net
Web - Photo - Audio
# 3
Willdridge
Willdridge
07/06/2000 5:37 pm